[2013] Year of Getting Things Done: photography

2013: year of Getting Shit Done. In the spirit of sharing our creative endeavours, here’s a few words about one of my favourite hobbies.

I have just ordered one of these, and I am very pleased:

Tamron AF 70-300mm F4-5.6 Di LD Macro 1:2 Nikon+Motor

Tamron AF 70-300mm F4-5.6 Di LD Macro 1:2 Nikon+Motor

Already thinking of things to do and places to go with it.

I really love photography, but it’s often hard to find good opportunities to go wander with a camera in winter. If it snows, you get the novelty factor of things looking pretty and white. Grey and grey on a grey background, as most Irish winters are, is not so lovely.

Two years ago, when we had several weeks of snow and a fairly solid freeze every day, my boyfriend and I went to Dublin Zoo when everything was still frozen. It was beautiful. The lake was almost entirely ice, and the winter-loving animals – wolves, penguins, snow leopards – were frolicking around with expressions of incredulous enjoyment.

I’d like to try some astrophotography soon – A (boyfriend) has a small telescope and a decent set of binoculars, I have a camera and a tripod: between us, we make one very prepared photographer – and maybe some more wildlife shots. A few years ago I was very into live music photography, but as I currently live outside the city there’s not a lot of that going on.

The next thing I want to invest in is a Flickr pro membership. I’ve been using Flickr for ages and just putting up a few shots here and there, but I’d really like to have the extra capacity that pro allows, in order to do a decent portfolio online.

If a thing’s worth doing, it’s worth being broke for… as the saying should have read.

A few of my photos are under this cut.

swan on St Stephen's Green.

swan on St Stephen’s Green.

 

Pompeii.

Pompeii.

meerkat? meerkat!

meerkat? meerkat!

 

you do not *know* the phrase 'wolfing it down' until you've been six inches from one of these boys eating.

you do not *know* the phrase ‘wolfing it down’ until you’ve been six inches from one of these boys eating. scary stuff.

 

Colm Mac Con Iomaire from The Frames.

Colm Mac Con Iomaire from The Frames.

 

Prague Castle from Charles Bridge.

Prague is a city built in tiers.

Leave a Reply

